Ruthvika clinches Open India International Challenge, Lakshya Sen toppled

By: Swetha
Date: 04 Dec, 2017
Image Courtesy: Ruthvika/FB

Top Indian junior shuttler Lakshya Sen stunned by Thailand’s unseeded Sitthikom Thammasin outstanding play, who lifted the men’s singles title in the USD 20,000 Tata Open India International Badminton Challenge.

Thammasin, previously trounced top seeded Sourabh in the quarter finals - who was away for almost November as he couldn’t take part in any tournament due to injury, outclassed Almora-born Sen in the final match with 15-21, 21-14, 21-19 in the well-contested 80-minute match.

The men’s final produced some nitty-gritty rallies from both the shuttlers with Sen, dominating the opening game before swaying in the last two after squandered the chances.

The opening game was under the Indian’s control by 13-12 with the row of smashes and the drops, which made the Thai shuttler go error at the net. In the second game, Thammasin was on the front by winning straight eight points on the trot to make the score 18-12 to his advantage. Thai threw the game to the decider with 21-14. In the final game, the opponents went neck-to-neck till 18-18 when Sen received the powerful smash by the Thai for the match point.

While, to the divergence, women’s singles game was more exciting as Ruthvika and Riya played above the ordinary game. In the first game, neither of the players were more than one point lead till they made the score 10-10, from where Ruthvika took the dominance by scoring the 7 points straight and wrapped the match in just 15 minutes with the drop that was netted by Riya.

Ruthvika, who went down in the world rankings from 48 to 119 due to a six-month break due to injury, led by 10-7 in the second game, before Riya rebounded. The unforced errors by Ruthvika made Riya to take the lead by 20-17, later the former gained three straight points to level the score with 20-20. The Hyderabad-based Ruthvika took away the title after winning the smash from the net.

Final results:

Women’s singles: Ruthvika Shivani Gadde (India) beat Riya Mukherjee (India) 21-12 23-21

Women’s doubles: Ng Tsz Yau/Yeung Nga Ting (Hong Kong) beat Ng Wing Yung/Yuen Sin Ying (Hong Kong) 23-25 21-14 21-19

Men’s singles: Sitthikom Thammasin (Thailand) beat Lakshya Sen (India) 15-21 21-14 21-19

Men’s doubles: Maneepong Jongjit/Nanthakarn Yordphaisong (Thailand) beat Aaron Chia/Wooi Yik Soh (Malaysia) 21-6 21-9

Mixed doubles: Hee Chun Mak/Yeung Nga Ting (Hong Kong) beat Chang Tak Ching/Ng Wing Yung (Hong Kong) 21-11 17-21 21-18

Share this post with your friends

Visitors Guru
Most Viewed
Stay Connected