GoBadminton File

Indonesia Open'18: Tournament Details and Prediction

By: Srishty Sharon
Date: 02 Jul, 2018
Image Courtesy: GoBadminton File

The Indonesia Open is a badminton tournament, started in 1982. It is a yearly tournament, organized by Badminton Association of Indonesia or PBSI. It is undoubtedly one of the most famous tournaments that take place at the International Level. In the year 2007, the Indonesia Open became a part of the Badminton World Federation Superseries tournament and subsequently, in 2011, it got its Superseries Premier status. Shuttlers around the globe partake in this thrilling tournament.


The Indonesia Open Badminton 2018 starts from tomorrow, in Jakarta. It will be held in the Indoor Sporting Arena at the Istora Gelora Bung Karna Sports Palace. The 6-day long tournament will take place on 3rd of July and conclude on the 8th of this month. We cannot be more excited about the upcoming championship, to see the world’s best shuttlers smashing hits on the courts.


Men’s Singles


Talking about the Men’s Singles, 4th Seeded, Srikanth Kidambi and 8th Seeded player, HS Prannoy will represent India. They will be battling with the other top 8 seeded players from different countries. There is no doubt that the competition will be tougher and exciting.


In section 1 of the top half, in Men’s singles, Indian shuttler Sourabh Verma will play head to head with Danish badminton player, Rasmus Gemke. In section 2, HS Prannoy from India will take on with Chinese shuttler Lin Dan.


Kidambi will get to play in the Bottom half section 3, where he will dice against Kento Momota from Japan.


Women’s Singles


In Women’s singles, 3rd seeded, PV Sindhu will stage India. This will be her first appearance in the Indonesian Open.

Indian shuttler Vaishnavi Jakka will take on with the Danish player Line Kjaersfeldt in the top half, section 1, meanwhile, Sindhu will venture against Pornpawee Chochuong, from Thailand in the second section.


In the bottom half, Saina Nehwal will play head to head with the Indonesian shuttler Dinar Dyah Ayustine.


Men’s Doubles


In the Men’s Doubles, the pair of Indian shuttlers Manu Attri and B Reddy will battle against the Chinese duo, Liu Cheng and Zhang Nan, in the first section, whereas in the second section, S Rankireddy and Chirag C Reddy will start their venture against Japanese pair, Hiroyuki Endo and Yuta Watanabe, to take a step forward towards the victory.


Women’s Doubles


In Women’s Doubles, M Jakkampudi and Poorvisha S Ram will trifle with the Indonesian players Siti Fadia Silva Ramandhanti and Agatha Imanuela. They must move heaven and earth, to win the title.


Mixed Doubles


In Mixed Doubles, the Indian badminton players, P Chopra and N S Reddy will play to outclass the Chinese shuttlers Zheng Siwei and Huang Yaqiong.


Who will Take the Trophy Home?


In the previous year, the Indian shuttler, Srikanth Kidambi won the title of Men’s singles by vanquishing Japanese shuttler Kazumasa Sakai with a tough play of 21-11 21-19.


On the other hand, the Japanese player, Sayako Sato foiled the South Korean shuttler, Sung Ji-hyun by 21-13 17-21 21-14 and won the title of Women’s singles.


In Men’s Doubles, Li Junhui and Liu Yuchen from China ventured against their Danish rivals, Mathias Boe and Carsten Mogensen. Even though the match was highly competitive and tough, the Chinese shuttlers manage to bring the trophy home. Meanwhile, compatriots Chen Qingchen and Jia Yifan won the Women’s Doubles title by defeating the South Korean pair of Chang Ye-Na and Lee So-hee by 21-19 15-19 21-10.


In the finals of the Mixed Doubles, China’s Zheng Siwei and Chen Qingchen tossed up with Tontowi Ahmad and Liliyana Natsir from Indonesia. However, they gave up with the concluding score of 22-10 21-15 and the pair of the host country won the title of the Mixed Doubles in the Indonesian Open 2017.


Based on the current performances and labour of the Indian shuttlers, it is hard to predict who will take the trophy home, as all of them are fantabulous players. Kidambi has already brought the Indonesian Open Men’s Singles title, last year, and this year there is a high chance for Kidambi, HS Prannoy and Verma. Either of them can take the title for the Men’s Singles.


Talking about the Women’s Singles the competition will be thrilling and there is a higher chance of Saina playing against Sindhu. Saina has already made her hattricks in the Indonesian Open in previous few years. The 3rd seeded Sindhu has a higher chance to make it through the finals and win the Title.



Share this post with your friends

Visitors Guru
Most Viewed
Stay Connected