Tai won her Second Indonesia Open title. Momota outplayed Axelsen

By: Srishty Sharon
Date: 09 Jul, 2018
Image Courtesy: PBL

Tai Tzu Ying of Taiwan won the Women’s Singles title in the Indonesian Badminton Open, that concluded yesterday. She crushed her Chinese opponent Chen Yufei in the thrilling match of the Women's Singles finals by 23-21, 21-15, 21-9. Despite an excellent inaugural game, the Chinese shuttler surrendered to world no. 1 Tai.


Earlier in 2016, Tai won her first ever Indonesian Open title, and this is her second victory in this tournament. Tai came out as an Unbeaten badminton player in her previous 29 matches with stunning and breathtaking performance.


Regardless her victory, the Indonesia Open Women’s Singles winner, Tai believed that she played in haste in the opening game and unsated with her conduct in the finals. Although, she gained her confidence back after losing the first game and focused on winning the match.


Chen has also played amazingly well and thrown out top players such as Akane Yamaguchi and Sung Ji-Hyun to get into finals. Although she finished runner-up, she was elated with her performance.


On the other-hand, Kento Momota, the Japanese shuttler also fetched his second Indonesian Open title in the Men's Singles after thrashing first-seeded Danish player, Viktor Axelsen in the finals match 21-14 and 21-9. Momota took the lead of 11-1 from the beginning and gets a comfortable victory over his opponent.


Earlier in 2015, Momota won the Indonesian Open title, and this is his biggest title after his comeback from the one-year ban by the Japan Association, for Gambling in an illegal Casino. This victory was precious to him more than any other international championship, said the Indonesia Open 2018 Men's Singles winner.


The Japanese duo of the Second seeded player Yuki Fukushima and Sayaka Hirota defeated their compatriots Mayu Matsumoto and Wakana Nagahara 21-14, 16-21 and 21-14.

Final Winners:

Women’s Singles: Tai Tzu Ying Vs Chen Yufei (21-23, 21-15, 21-9)

 Women’s Doubles: Yuki Fukushima / Sayaka Hirota Vs Mayu Matsumoto / Wakana Nagahara (21-14, 16-21, 21-14)

 Men’s Singles: Kento Momota Vs Viktor Axelsen (21-14, 21-9)

 Mixed Doubles: Tontowi Ahmad / Liliyana Natsir Vs Chan Peng Soon/ GOH Liu Ying (21-17, 21-8)

 Men’s Doubles: Marcus Fernaldi GIDEON / Kevin Sanjaya SUKAMULJO Vs Takuto INOUE / Yuki KANEKO (21-13, 21-16)


We congratulate all the Indonesia Open 2018 Final winners.

Share this post with your friends

Visitors Guru
Most Viewed
Stay Connected