Maharashtra Jr. Badminton Championship 2018: NDBA revealed the Nagpur squad

By: Srishty Sharon
Date: 05 Sep, 2018
Image Courtesy: Playo

This is the time for the Maharashtra Junior Inter-District badminton championship 2018. Earlier, the championship was held in Nagpur, but according to the most recent news on the Nagpur badminton 2018, Thane will be hosting the Maharashtra Junior Inter-District and State Badminton Championship for the Under-17 and Under-19 badminton players. The Nagpur District Badminton Association (NDBA) has announced that the championship will be held at the Dadaji Kondadev Stadium in Thane. The six-day championships will start from Sept 4 and conclude on Sept 9.


In the Under-17 and Under-19, there are 10 members in each of the mixed district teams including five girls in every team. Before the initiation of the championships, the selected players had a practice cam. It was held at the Subhedar Hall, and under the guidance of the Coach Anant Apte, players practised for three days. On Tuesday, the mixed team championship began.


All the shuttlers attended the three-day camp except the shuttler Rohan Gurbani. Gurbani is getting trained at the Prakash Padukone Badminton Academy Bengaluru is from the orange city Nagpur. He joined the team on Monday.


After having a meet with the NDBA president Kunda Vijaykar, the team hopped on the Sewagram Express on Sunday as they started their voyage to Thane. On the occasion, Mangesh Kashikar NDBA Secretary, and Shriram Purohit NDBA Vice-President were present along with the member Bhavna Agrey.

Last year in July, the championship was held at the Divisional Sports Complex, Mankapur where Nagpur district won the championship of the Under-17 category. However, the Under-19 category was won by the Mumbai Suburban by 2-3 in the decider match, last year.

Nagpur district badminton squad


Rohan Gurbani, Sifat Arora, Jaskaran Suri, Ayush Jadhav, Devika Kawale, Livia Fernandez, Chaitali Nayse, Shimpli Wasnik, Ananya Durugkar.


Rohan Gurbani, Gaurav Mithe, Gandhar Nawale, Nabeel Ahmed, Hriday Deshmukh, Malvika Bansod, Rashi Lambe, Rutura Joshi, Sanika Durugkar, Livia Fernandez.

Coach: Anant Apte

Manager: Madhav Soman

Share this post with your friends

Visitors Guru
Most Viewed
Stay Connected