Para Badminton

Himanta Biswa Sarma as Asian Para-Badminton Committee Chairperson

By: Gobadminton desk
Date: 31 Jul, 2017
Image Courtesy: BWF

BAI president, Dr. Himanta Biswa Sarma is elected as the chairperson of the Asian Para-Badminton Committee.


During the BWF's Annual General Meeting in Gold Coast, Australia on May 18th during the sidelines of the Sudirman Cup, Sarma was instated into the committee.


Earlier, the position was held by Late Dr. Akhilesh Das Gupta. As Para-Badminton to be included in Tokyo 2020 Paralympic Games for the first time, the development of Indian para badminton is one of the key agenda. BAI aims to become the strongest at the global level with para badminton; the president selection is the crucial part to carry the future of it.


Sarma’s appointment would play an immense role as he is a sitting MLA from the Jalukbari constituency in Assam and also cabinet minister handling portfolios of Finance, Health and Education in Assam. He will serve as the chairperson of the commission for the two year tenure.


"This is indeed a matter of great pride for BAI that Dr. Sarma has been elected as the president of the body. His selection shows how important India is considered in the global badminton circuit and only underlines BAI's commitment towards taking the sport to unprecedented heights," said Anup Narang, BAI Secretary General.


"We are quite sure that Dr. Sarma will do great justice to his new role and will hit the ground running and will develop leaps and bounds in years to come," Narang added.

Share this post with your friends

Visitors Guru
Most Viewed
Stay Connected