Hyderabad Hunters

Hyderabad to Host Finals of the PBL Season 5

By: Editor
Date: 10 Jan, 2020
Image Courtesy: Hyderabad Hunters
The much-awaited schedule of the Premier Badminton League Season 5 was unveiled earlier today with the newly acquired franchise Chennai Superstarz playing on the opening night against Season 3 winners Hyderabad Hunters on the 20th of January 2020.

Defending champions and strong title contenders Bengaluru Raptors will open their campaign against the Warriors from Northeast on the 22nd. The team, however, will be bitterly disappointed by the fact that they will not have the chance to defend their title in front of their passionate home fans. 

“Despite our best efforts, this year PBL will not happen in Bengaluru. The reason being the ‘unavailability’ of the venue, Kanteerava Indoor Stadium. 

“Officials are trying to not make it happen and we feel disappointed that Bengaluru may not get to see world class players battle it out,’ said Bengaluru in a statement issued on their Instagram handle. 

The lack of adequate approvals and a bitter tussle over the Kanteerava Stadium – venue for the Raptors’ 2019 triumph, now means that the finale will be in the Gachibowli Indoor Stadium, Hyderabad.

Hyderabad will also host the semi-finals, four of the league matches of the home team Hyderabad Hunters and a clutch of other games in a 12-day period starting January 29th. 

Between the Chennai and Hyderabad legs of the PBL Season 5, Lucknow will be the third venue. The western Indian derby – Pune v Mumbai – will be the first of the matches, while Awadh Warriors will two of their matches in front of their home crowd.

The excitement over the Premier Badminton League 2020 is building up as we are just 10 days out from the tournament, and the announcement of the schedule is likely to crank it up a few notches.
Hyderabad fans will be particularly the happy lot, they will not only see their home team in action a lot more than others, the venue has been a happy hunting ground for the home franchise. 

The PV Sindhu-led franchise will look to keep up the sequence of the previous two editions, wherein the franchise hosting the finals has also been the winners; with the Hyderabad Hunters themselves lifting their maiden title in the 3rd edition of the tournament.

Share this post with your friends

Visitors Guru
Most Viewed
Stay Connected