GoBadminton File

PBL Season III Players Auction: Top picks and what they bring to the teams

By: Swetha
Date: 09 Oct, 2017
Image Courtesy: GoBadminton File

The stage is all set for the forthcoming season 3 of PBL as the bids started today in Hyderabad. Officials from BAI, PBL, Sportzlive, and the respective franchise heads poised at the event.


Bob Hayton, the professional certified Auctioneer who has more than 30 years standing, has brought down the hammer for this year’s PBL.


The 24-day long event from December 22 to January 14 is going to be very hysteric, wild, and agitated as spectators will witness world’s top players. With the total of 133 players, the iconic players to lookout in this season are, World No 1. shuttlers Viktor Axelsen and Tai Tzu Ying, P. V. Sindhu, Saina Nehwal, and Kidambi Srikanth, Tzu Wei Wang, Carolina Marin, Son Wan Ho, and Sung Ji Hyun.


This season is bigger than the previous versions with the addition of two more teams, North Eastern Warriors and Ahmedabad Smash, to make total of eight with Delhi Acers, Mumbai Rockets, Chennai Smashers, Bangalore Blasters, Hyderabad Hunters, Awadhe Warriors.


Unlike, the previous seasons - first season with 21-point format and season 2 with 11-point format - season three matches will be played on the 15-point format and the ‘Trump’ match will continue to be one of the star glamours.


National chief coach, Pullela Gopichand had explained the rules; with the total auction purse of Rs. 2.12 crores with 10 members, the teams should have maximum of 5 foreign players and must have minimum of 3 women players for the fare balance of the players. The team can have maximum of 2 icon players and minimum 1 along with one player has to be from U-17 category. Each team can bid maximum of 71 lakhs for a particular player. New teams can use 1 right to match for players who are making their debut in PBL.


And the winner’s purse is Rs. 3 crore, the runner-up will get Rs. 1.5 crore and the losing semifinalists Rs. 75 lakh each in the championship. The title sponsor for the mega event is Vodafone and Yonex being the kit provider.


While, each of the old teams got one chance to retain the player, P. V. Sindhu retained to Chennai Smashers, Saina Nehwal to Awadhe Warriors, Vlandir Ivanov to Delhi Acers, N. Sikki Reddy to Bangalore Blasters, Lee Yong Dae to Mumbai Rockets, and Satwik Sai Raj to Hyderabad.


The auction had begun in the second half of the day with the iconic players, World No. 1 Tai Tzu Ying being the first bid bagged by the newly added team, Ahmedabad Smash Masters for 52 lacs followed by Chinese Taipei Tzu Wei Wang for 52 lakhs by North Eastern Warriors.


Carolina Marin who earlier spearheaded the Hyderabad Hunters is back to the home team for 50 lakhs. World No. 1 Viktor Axelsen and World No. 2 Son Wan Ho taken by Bengaluru Blasters and Mumbai Rockets respectively for 50 lakhs each. With the continuous and smooth bids going around, the surprise kicked in with Sung Ji Hyun, the World No. 3 being unsold in her first bid, later the Korean went to Delhi Acers for 50 lakhs.


On the other hand, the teams had continued the same pace in bidding on the emerging and young shuttlers not to lose the spot. Aarthi Sara Sunil, the doubles shuttler went to Delhi Acers for the base price of 3 lakhs, while, Chirag Shetty and Ruthvika Shivani Gadde caught by North Eastern Warriors for 5 lakhs and 9 lakhs respectively. Kidambi Nandagopal and Shreyanshi Pardeshi went for 1 lakh each to Ahmedabad Smash Masters and Delhi Acers.


Double Ace shuttler, Prajakta Swant will show her prowess for the new team North Eastern Warriors for 7 lakhs, while, the mixed doubles specialist Anoushka Parikh joined the roar of Hyderabad Hunters.


Chennai Smashers who being the Champion of season 2 continued, retaining their players with hero of the last season finals, Tanongsak S for 25 lakhs, while the adcock pair, Chris and Gabby, joined the team for 54 lakhs and 48 lakhs respectively.

India's HS Prannoy became the costliest player at the players auction of the Premier Badminton League with a bid of Rs. 62 lakh by the new team Ahmedabad Smash Masters.

With the two new teams in place along with the world class and emerging players roped in, the forthcoming season III of PBL auctions concluded with all smiles followed by the press conference with the officials from BAI, Sportzlive, and the top Indian shuttlers, P. V. Sindhu, Kidambi Srikanth, H. S. Prannoy, Sai Praneeth B, Kashyap, and Sikki Reddy.

With the strong and solid players in each team, here are the final squads of each team.


 Awadhe Warriors:


- Saina Nehwal

- Kidambi Srikanth

- Tang Chun Man                               

Christinna Pedersen                       

Or Chin Chung

Mahima Aggarwal

Parupalli Kashyap                

- Sai Uttejitha Rao

Harshit Aggarwal

Hendra Setiawan


Bangalore Blasters:

Viktor Axelsen                      

Mathios Boe                         

Kim Sa Rang                         

Sikki Reddy

Manu Atri                              

Kirsty Gilmour

Harsheel Dani

Rituparna Das

K. Maneesha                         

Chong Wei Feng


Delhi Acers:

Sung Ji Hyun                        

Vladimir Ivanov        

Tian Houwei  

Aarthi Sara Sunil

Ivan Sozonov                       

Ashwini Ponnappa               

Pranaav Chopra                   

Shreyanshi Pardesi             

Guru Sai Dutt

Wong Wing Ki                                  


Chennai Smashers:

P. V Sindhu                           

Gabrielle Adcock                              

Chris Adcock                        

Brice Leverdez                     

Tanongsak S

Daniel Farid

Aditya Joshi

B Sumeeth Reddy

Tanvi Lad 

Lee Yang


Hyderabad Hunters:

Carolina Marin

Satwiksai Raj Rankireddy 

Pia Zebadiah                         

Yoo Yeon Seong                              

B. Sai Praneeth                    

Lee Hyun II

Rasika Raje

Rahul Yadav

Anoushka Parikh

Lu Ching Yao


Mumbai Rockets:

Lee Yong Dae

Son Won Ho 

Sameer Verma

Beiwen Zhang

Gabriela Stoeva

Kona Tarun

M R Arjun

Tan Boon Heong

Kuhoo Garg

Sanyam Shukla        


North Eastern Warriors:

Tzu Wei Wang

Ajay Jayaram

Chirag Shetty                       

Prajakta Sawant                   

Shin Baek Cheoul                

Ruthvika Shivani Gadde     

Kim Gi Jung

Sanyogita Ghorpade

Pratul Joshi

Michelle Li


Ahmedabad Smash Masters:

Tai Tzu Ying                         

Kamilla Rytter Juhl              

Lee Reginald             

Kidambi Nandagopal           

Law Cheuk Him        

Sourabh Verma                    

H. S. Prannoy                                   

Siril Verma

Stefani Stoeva

Sri Krishna Priya

Share this post with your friends

Visitors Guru
Most Viewed
Stay Connected