Badminton Photo

Sindhu, Srikanth, and Gopichand win Top Honours at ESPN Multi-Sport Awards

By: Swetha Reddy
Date: 02 Apr, 2018
Image Courtesy: Badminton Photo

Badminton stood as the showstopper in the inaugural ESPN Multi-Sport Awards, as PV Sindhu, Kidambi Srikanth and Pullela Gopichand had won awards for best sportspersons - male and female - and best coach.  

Kidambi Srikanth professed the title of 'Sportsperson of the Year - Male' for his impressive run in 2017, when he bagged four super series titles. He became the only Indian and the fourth player to have achieved it in one calendar year.

For her fantastic run in 2017, World No. 3 PV Sindhu received the ‘Sportsperson of the Year - Female’ title, while national chief coach Pullela Gopichand received ‘Coach of the Year’ award.

The awards which recognise achievements across 11 categories, were selected by an independent 14-member jury comprising eminent sports personalities including Abhinav Bindra, Somdev Devvarman, Bhaichung Bhutia, Jagbir Singh, Rohit Brijnath, Venkatesan Devarajan, Nisha Millet, Aparna Popat, Jagdish Kaliraman, Manisha Malhotra, Anju Bobby George.

Complete List Of The Winners:

Sportsperson of the year (Male) : Kidambi Srikanth

Sportsperson of the year (Female) : PV Sindhu

Team of the year : Women's hockey team

Comeback of the year : Mary Kom

Emerging player of the year (21 and below) : Aditi Ashok

Coach of the year : Pullela Gopichand

Differently-abled athlete of the year : Sundar Singh Gurjar

Target Tokyo (Athletes we think could do well in the 2020 Games): Neeraj Chopra

Moment of the year : Jeakson's historic goal at the FIFA                        U-17 World Cup

Match of the year: : Sindhu vs Okuhara at the World                Championships

Lifetime Achievement Award : Ramanathan Krishnan

Share this post with your friends

Visitors Guru
Most Viewed
Stay Connected