PBL India

PBL3 Tie 13: Awadhe Warriors covers the penalty point

By: Swetha
Date: 05 Jan, 2018
Image Courtesy: PBL India

Srikanth’s second win of the season and Saina’s effort went in vain as Mumbai Rockets scored 4-1 win, on Thursday, over the home team Awadhe Warriors to keep their hopes alive for a berth in the knock-out.


Saina defeated world no. 11 Beiwen Zhang of US with 8-15, 15-10, 15-13, while, Kidambi Srikanth managed the win of 13-15, 15-13, 15-4 against Son Wan Ho, and put the team back on the stride after losing losing their ‘trump match’ and the first men’s singles match.


The pair Tan Boon Heong and Lee Yong Dae executed an amazing play in the ‘Trump match’ and ousted Hendra Setiawan and Or Chin Chung with 15-13, 15-12 to add 4-1 win to the Mumbai’s pocket.


Saina was no match to Beiwen in the opening game. With her cross-court drops and smashes, Beiwen used the court well engaging the Indian.


Though Beiwen was leading in the beginning of the second game, Saina slowly turned the gears and broke the break with 8-7 and wrapped the match after the interval and restored the parity.


In the final game, Saina was in no mood to let go and brought her experience into play.

Srikanth lost the first game by just two points. But after a change in ends, the ace Indian didn’t look back. In the decider, Srikanth didn’t allow Son any room and wrapped up the match, conceding just four points.


Earlier, Sameer Verma grabbed the easy 15-6, 15-14 win over the debutant Harshit Aggarwal, who was replaced by Parupalli Kashyap to let the team Mumbai Rockets take a 2(-1) lead over the Warriors in the five match tie.


In the first match of the day, the mixed doubles pair of Lee Yong Dae and Gabriela Stoeva registered an upset win over Christinna Pedersen and Tang Chun Man with 15-10, 14-15, 15-7. The match also saw the Warriors getting penalised as it was their ‘trump match’.



Mixed doubles: Gabriela Stoeva/Lee Yong Dae beat Christinna Pedersen-Tang Chun Man 15-10, 14-15, 15-7

Men’s singles: Sameer Verma beat Harshit Aggarwal 15-6, 15-14

Women’s singles: Beiwen Zhang lost to Saina Nehwal 15-8, 10-15, 13-15

Men’s singles: Son Wan Hoth lost to Kidambi Srikanth 15-13, 13-15, 4-15

Men’s doubles: Lee Yong Dae/Tan Boon Heong beat Hendra Setiawan/Or Chin Chung 15-13, 15-12

Share this post with your friends

Visitors Guru
Most Viewed
Stay Connected